Skip to content

Fears and BEERS

August 23, 2010

Major set back for me today.  Part of the reason I started this blog, and called it "Bite Right In" was to help me get over fears.  I was hoping that having to report back to the world would make me do things that I otherwise might have been too shy to do.  One of those is the gym.

Now for the past few years I have been going to the gym at my school, but only to the classes — I was a major Pilates fan — I would never just get on a piece of equipment.  One of the perks of my new job is the gym facilities that they have.  I woke up early this morning and got to the office an 1:15 early so I could try my hand at, well, something.  When I got to work I could hear the TV in the gym on, and equipment going – okay, so people are there, no big deal, I didn’t expect to be alone.  But as I passed by the auxiliary men’s locker room I saw someone left their ID badge near the door.  I looked around and no one was close by, so I slipped in (yes I am a female) and flipped over the badge.  Ugh, it was one of my least favorite people that I have met here so far.

I went straight up to my office and didn’t go to the gym.  I am embarrassed that I didn’t have the courage, but at the same time, happy I didn’t have to talk to this person or run next to him.

Anyway, before I set out for the early workout that wasn’t, I ate!

DSCF8468 DSCF8471

Whipped banana oats (thank also to Kath for the great ideas on cutting board uses) topped with 4 berry crofters, blueberries, mostly almond butter, and chi-chi-chi-chias!

DSCF8469 DSCF8473

  • 1/3 cups oats
  • 1/2  banana
  • 1/2 cup almond milk [152842]
  • 2 tsp jam
  • 2 tsp chia seeds [132173]
  • 1 tbs almond butter
  • 1/3 cup blueberries

breakfast

Since I ate this breakfast so early, I was hungry at my desk at 10:30 am.  Luckily I had packed a Chocolate Chip Brownie Larabar!

DSCF8478

Lunch was a salad.

DSCF8455 DSCF8466 DSCF8456

  • 3 cups mixed spring greens
  • 3 tbs hummus
  • 1/4 cup chopped tomato
  • 2 tbs feta cheese
  • 1/4 cup chopped yellow bell pepper
  • 1/4 sliced cucumbers
  • 1 tbs balsamic vinegar

salad

So good!

My favorite cheat for a delicious, creamy, guilt-free salad dressing is to whip together hummus and balsamic vinegar, with just a tiny bit of oil, but just placing a dollop on top, and then putting it in a lunch box and carrying it around, mixes it up pretty well too!

I left work early tonight so I could go volunteer at Cricket Hill Brewery and ate an apple on the drive up (the one pictured with lunch)

First time I heard of Cricket Hill was having "dinner" with my boyfriend at the time at The Famished Frog in Morristown.  We asked the waiter for recommendations on which beer we would like after we described our taste.  The waiter recommended me Stone’s Smoked Porter and him Cricket Hill’s American Ale.  Both of these beers were excellent recommendations and they are both still some of our favorites–that waiter got a very nice tip!

Anyway, we noticed when we were served the beer that Cricket Hill is brewed not to far away, so one Friday night we headed over for their tasting and "tour."  Quotes are definitely necessary around the word "tour" because, well, just have a look at the video. 

Yup — that is the entire "tour" the rest of the time was just hanging out and drinking "samples."  It was like going to a bar.

Anyway, while we were there we were talking to some locals who took the tour regularly and they informed us that because the Cricket Hill operation is so small, they employ volunteers a couple of times a month to aid in the bottling operations.  Tonight I worked the bottling line loading bottles and stacking boxes.  It was exhausting after a full day of work, but it was a lot of fun.  They “paid” in beer, so I had a pint of Nocturne and a taste of their lager, while I bottled the Fall Festivus and the lager.   

DSCF8480 DSCF8481

I came home to celebrate my dad’s birthday.  The fam had already had dinner so I just threw some leftover potatoes and peas in a pan and cracked an egg over them.

DSCF8486 DSCF8482

dinner

Then I had cake.  I baked it, remember?

DSCF8487

And a little bit more.

 

I am attempting the gym again tomorrow—maybe.  Goodnight!

Post in before midnight=score!!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2010 1:59 pm

    You got paid in beer?! That’s awesome!

    I also love hummus dressing.

    • August 25, 2010 1:12 am

      Yup, yup! I highly recommend getting in touch with local microbreweries. Tours and tastings are usually get you about a free pint. Sometimes a little more ;-)

  2. August 25, 2010 1:48 pm

    Still rainy and cool and grey here. I kinda like it though, i love fall.

    I could totally understand your fears about the gym. Especially with people you work with! I avoid all of the gyms around here (and sadly stores too). Just so i don’t run into a patient. I mean I know that if it happened it wouldn’t be a huge deal, but I’d rather just avoid it all together. I guess I’m kinda anti social like that.

  3. lapiattini permalink
    August 25, 2010 9:59 pm

    I love that you post the nutrition facts- what a great idea!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

